Triple Crown for Davidi Kitai

Belgian completes major hat-trick at EPT Berlin

The European Poker Tour’s busy tournament schedule continued this weekend with another eye-catching stop in Berlin, where Belgian pro Davadi Kitai gave his country its first ever EPT title and in turn became the latest pro to claim poker’s illusive Triple Crown.

Kitai, who added the EPT Berlin trophy and €712,000 to past WPT and WSOP glories, saw off a stacked final table which included the UK’s very own Marc Wright (no, not that one) to join the likes of Jake Cody and ElkY in poker’s Triple Crown elite.

Kitai, 32, from Brussels, beat fellow EPT regular Andrew Chen heads-up in his second EPT final – he came third at EPT Barcelona in Season 5 for €455,000. For Chen, though, there was yet more EPT heartache as the 24-year-old – who now has three EPT final tables to his name – had to ‘settle’ for €613,000 and a runner-up finish in Germany.

Kitai and Chen, who shared a cab to EPT Berlin after landing at the airport at the same time earlier in the week, were the last two standing in a 745-strong field, as both eyed up the lion’s share of a hefty €3,725,000 prizepool.

Chen conceded that Kitai ‘owned’ him heads-up, and in the final hand, the Belgian moved all-in from the button with Kd- 7h and Chen made the call for his last 2.4 million with Ad-Qh. A Kh-6d-6s-3s-Ks board gave Kitai full boat and boosted his live earning to just shy of $3m.

As well as his EPT Berlin title, Kitai received a stunning bracelet worth more than €10,000 from Shamballa Jewels, the Official Bracelet Sponsor of EPT Season 8. He has also secured a seat in the EPT Tournament of Champions event, taking place on May 1.

‘It’s amazing to win!’ said Kitai. ‘I’m feeling great. I didn’t expect to beat that field and it was a very tough final table. I’m going to celebrate with all my friends in Belgium, and in France, and we’re going to celebrate in Monte Carlo for sure.’

Here’s how the final table finished:

1. Davidi Kitai €712,000
2. Andrew Chen €613,000
3. Andre Morath €290,000
4. Mario Puccini €220,000
5. Bahadir Kilickeser €172,000
6. César García €133,000
7. Marc Wright €97,000
8. Pratyush Buddiga €72,000

Pin It

Comments are closed.