Lisandro makes WSOP History

Jeff Lisandro makes WSOP history by winning three bracelets in one year

Jeff Lisandro has become only the fifth player in WSOP history to win three events within a single year. He joins an elite club that includes Puggy Pearson (1973), Ted Forrest (1993), Phil Hellmuth (1993) and Phil Ivey (2002). However, with field sizes across all the events much larger now than they were even in 2003 Lisandro’s epic achievement may well be deemed the greatest.

Yesterday’s win of the $ 2,500 Seven-card Razz event was his fourth bracelet in all with every one coming in a Stud variant. The Australian has long been renowned for his Stud prowess in high stakes cash games around the world and he has proved that the skills are transferrable to tournament poker at this WSOP.

With ten bracelet events left this year in Vegas, Lisandro has a chance to pull away from the pack and win an unprecedented fourth bracelet in one year. With the form he is in at the moment many will see him as having a particularly good chance in the $ 50,000 H.O.R.S.E. event which starts later this week and plays to his strengths as a mixed game specialist.

Needless to say, Lisandro will also have pulled ahead of the pack in the race for WSOP Player of the Year. This year’s WSOP has seen some incredible performances from the likes of Brock Parker (two bracelets), Phil Ivey (claiming his 6th and 7th bracelets) and Vitaly Lunkin (won the $ 40k NLHE opener) but none can match up to the history that Jeff Lisandro has created over the past fortnight.

Pin It

Comments are closed.