Sole Survivor at the Paddy Power Poker Irish Open 2015

What’s better than winning the Irish Open? Winning it as Paddy Power Poker’s Sole Survivor

Things don’t normally get much better than winning a tournament outright. But with Paddy Power Poker’s fantastic sole survivor promotion, the last remaining online qualifier in the Irish Open will pocket an extra €50k in cold hard cash on top of any tournament winnings. Second to sixth place sole survivor players get the consolation prize of free entry into the 2016 Irish Open.

Bank the bonus

There are two ways you can qualify to be a part of the 2015 sole survivor promotion.

  1. Qualify online via a Paddy Power Poker satellite from as little as €0.50 (CLICK HERE for all the satellite details).
  2. Buy-in using Power Points in your Paddy Power Poker account.

Last man standing

Two players have become the ultimate sole survivors – winning the Irish Open and banking the bonus on top. Niall Smyth was the first in 2011 when he took home a massive €650k and the Irish Open trophy. Last year, Patrick Clarke became the second, adding €50k to his €200k winnings. Clarke also won his entry into this year’s tournament, so if he you see him in Dublin you can buy him a drink and pick his brains for tips.

And remember, the buy-in for this year’s Irish Open has been upped to €3,500, which means an even bigger prize pool to play for. Make sure you’re in with a shot of winning the lion’s share of it – and the sole survivor bonus – this year.

Should the sole survivor promotion affect your play?

You’ve probably tried a last-man standing bet before, but Sole Survivor raises the stakes. The first ever Sole Survivor – Marcel Koch in 2009 – got €17,900 for finishing 16th and bagged another €100k on top!

Ian Simpson, Sole Survivor from 2012 (and winner in 2013!), used it to his advantage late on in the tournament: ‘I made an all-in four-bet versus one guy when there were just a few Sole Survivors left. The opponent said he couldn’t call me as I’d essentially bet €100k. I was actually bluffing that time! It definitely changes the dynamic of the tournament.’

Sole Survivors (prize money plus sole survivor package)

  • 2009: Marcel Koch – €117,900
  • 2010: Rob Sherwood – €263,300
  • 2011: Niall Smyth – €650,000
  • 2012: Ian Simpso – €207,500
  • 2013: Calvin Anderson – €109,000
  • 2014: Patrick Clarke – €250,000

Get a free subscription to PokerPlayer here!

Pin It

Comments are closed.